I am now accessing as a :

Government Of Assam Transport Commissionerate of Transport

District Transport Offices (DTO) in Assam

The District Transport Officers in district level function as the Secretary & Regional Transport Authority. As the Secretary of Regional Transport Authority, he is to issue permits for transport/commercial vehicles and renew the same.

There are 26 districts in Assam. The affairs of transport and vehicles at the district level are performed by the District Transport Officers as per their inherited and delegated powers. The District Transport Officer is a very important post in a district and he has some important statutory power under Motor Vehicle Act and Rules.

The District Transport Officer, who is also ex-officio Secretary of Regional Transport Authority, plays a vital role in licensing and registering of vehicles in a district under Chapter -II and-III of Motor Vehicles Rules, 1989. The District Transport Officer in a district is solely responsible for granting of different type of driving licence and conductor licence, trade licence to the motor vehicle dealers and workshops, assignment of registration mark to the newly registered vehicles, collection of various taxes and fees under the Motor Vehicle Act and Rules. As Secretary, Regional Transport Authority, he grants road permits for different classes of transport vehicles and renew thereof. With a work force of M.V.I. Enforcement Inspectors and clerical staff he has to look after the daily office work for smooth running of the same. Moreover, he is also empowered with powers for prosecuting the offenders under Motor Vehicle Act.1988.

District Level Offices and their Headquarters

Headquarter Division District Transport Offices
 Guwahati Lower Assam DivisionKamrup Metro (R & L), Kamrup Metro (Enf) Kamrup Metro (RTA) 
Kamrup Rural ,Nalbari , Barpeta,  Bongaigaon , Goalpara, Dhubri

 Jorhat Upper Assam Division1.Tinsukia 2.Dibrugarh, 3.Joraht, 4.Golaghat 5. Nagaon

 Tezpur Middle Assam Division1. Dhemaji 2. Lakhimpur, 3. Sonitpur, 4. Darrang 5. Morigaon

 Silchar Barak Valley & Hilly Areas1. Cachar2. Hailakandi, 3. Karimganj4. Karbi-Anglong 5. Dima Hasao

 Kokrajhar Bodoland Tribal Areas District1. Kokrajhar 2. Chirang 3. Baksa, 4. Udalguri  

District Transport Office Addresses

DTO BaksaDistrict Transport Office Musalpur Kadamtal Road, P.O. Musalpur, District- Baksa, Assam  

DTO KamrupDistrict Transport Office, Kamrup(R & L) Betkuchi,
N.H.37, Guwahati-34
District Transport Office, Secy. R.T.A. Kamrup(RTA)
Betkuchi, N.H.37, Guwahati-34
District Transport Office, Kamrup(Enforcement)
Betkuchi, N.H.37, Guwahati-34  
District Transport Office, Kamrup(R)
Amingaon, North Guwahati, Guwahati-31  
DTO NAGAONDistrict Transport Office, A.S.T.C Campus
P.O. Nagaon, District- Nagaon, Assam  
RTO JorhatDistrict Transport Office Gar Ali,
P.O. Jorhat, District- jorhat, Assam  
DTO SivasagarDistrict Transport Office
Ranghar Chari Ali, P.O. Sivasagar, District- Sivasagar, Assam  
DTO GolaghatDistrict Transport Office
Arengapara, Ward No-1, P.O. Golaghat, District- Golaghat, Assam  
DTO DibrugarhDistrict Transport Office
A.T.Road, Phool Bagan, P.O. Dibrugarh, District- Dibrugarh, Assam  
DTO LakhimpurDistrict Transport Office
Phanindra Path, P.O. North Lakhimpur, District- N.Lakhimpur, Assam  
DTO N.C.HillsOffice Of Deputy Commissioner Halflong,
District- N.C.Hills, Assam
DTO Karbi AnglongDistrict Transport Office
Diphu, P.O. Diphu, District- Karbi Anglong, Assam  
DTO KarimganjDistrict Transport Office
Steamer Ghat Road, P.O. Karimganj, District- Karimganj, Assam  
DTO CacharDistrict Transport Office
Park Road, P.O. Silchar, Assam 
DTO SonitpurDistrict Transport Office
P.O. Tezpur, District- Sonitpur, Assam  
DTO DarrangDistrict Transport Office
P.O. Mangaldoi, District- Darrang, Assam  
DTO NalbariDistrict Transport Office
P.O. Nalbari, District- Nalbari, Assam  
DTO BarpetaDistrict Transport Office
P.O. Barpeta, District- Barpeta, Assam  
DTO KokrajharDistrict Transport Office
P.O. Kokrajhar, District- Kokrajhar, Assam  
DTO DhubriDistrict Transport Office
P.O. Dhubri, District- Dhubri, Assam  
DTO GoalparaDistrict Transport Office
Agia Road, Bhalukdubi, P.O. Baladmari, District- Goalpara, Assam
DTO BongaigaonDistrict Transport Office
T.R.Phukan Road, P.O. Bongaigaon, District- Bongaigaon, Assam  
DTO MorigaonDistrict Transport Office
Marigaon-Nagaon Road, P.O. Morigaon, District- Morigaon, Assam 
DTO DhemajiDistrict Transport Office
P.O. Dhemaji, District- Dhemaji, Assam  
DTO TinsukiaDistrict Transport Office
A.T.Road, P.O. Tinsukia, District- Tinsukia, Assam
DTO HailakandiDistrict Transport Office
P.O. Hailakandi, District- Hailakandi, Assam  
DTO ChirangDistrict Transport Office
P.O. Dhaligaon, District- Chirang, Assam  
DTO UdalguriDistrict Transport Office
Block Chuk,P.O. Udalguri, District- Udalguri, Assam  
DTO BaksaDistrict Transport Office
Musalpur Kadamtal Road,
P.O. Musalpur, District- Baksa, Assam